Gibbs College Faculty Present at 2021 AIA Oklahoma Conference

The AIA Oklahoma Conference on Architecture was held in Edmond from September 30th – October 1st with the title “Back to the Future.” Several University of Oklahoma faculty members attended the conference, with several presenting on their recent work, including Assoc. Prof. Daniel Butko, Prof. Keith Gaddie, and Prof. Hans E. Butzer. Architecture students Hannah Reed and Ryan Godfrey were awarded scholarships during the conference as well – read about them here!

Daniel Butko, AIA, Associate Professor in the Division of Architecture, and Zach Maggia, AIA, OU Alumnus and Architect with TAP Architecture, presented “Practical (and Innovative) Acoustics for Everyday Projects: Helping designers hear space (HSW).” Their session focused on how attention to acoustics is vital for successful projects, including examples of applicable research and professional practice. Recent ADALAC acoustic concrete research was also shared to highlight the benefits of acoustical properties in precast elements. The pair were also recently announced as winners of ARCHITECT Magazine’s R+D Awards for their work with ADALAC acoustic concrete research. Read more about their project and R+D Award here.  

Photos of ADALAC Courtesy of Daniel Butko, Emily Butko, and Zach Maggia

Dr. Keith Gaddie, Assoc. AIA and Interim Associate Dean of Gibbs College of Architecture, presented with his research partner, Dr. Jocelyn Evans from the University of West Florida. Their presentation, titled “Democratic Conflict in Securing the Public Space (HSW),” explored the problems that arise with increasing security in public spaces. They used the context of the Capitol insurrection on January 6th, 2021 to discuss finding the balance between ensuring public spaces are secure but also open and free.  

Image from Dr. Gaddie’s Presentation: Artistic Depiction of the Conflict between Democratic Values and Increased Security Efforts in Public Spaces

Gibbs College of Architecture Dean Hans Butzer, AIA, presented with his partner Torrey Butzer, Assoc. AIA, in conjunction with Chief Harvey Pratt concerning the National Native American Veterans Memorial (NNVAM) in Washington D.C. 

Born in El Reno, Oklahoma, Chief Pratt is a member of the Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma. He also served in Vietnam from 1962 to 1965 as a U.S. Marine. Pratt’s design for the NNVAM, “Warrior’s Circle of Honor,” was unanimously chosen by jurors from over 120 submissions.  

Pratt collaborated with Hans and Torrey Butzer to design and finalize the memorial, which was opened on November 11, 2020 on the grounds of the National Museum of the American Indian. It will be dedicated on November 11, 2022.  

Pictures of NNVAM Courtesy of Alan Karchmer for National Museum of the American Indian

Congratulations to all of the presenters!